Secretary of the Department of Health

Media statement
22 Jan 2020
Prime Minister

Ms Glenys Beauchamp PSM has decided to retire from her position as the Secretary of the Department of Health, with effect from 28 February 2020.

Ms Beauchamp has served the Australian people with distinction over her 21 year career in the Australian Public Service, including nine years at Secretary level, as well as 13 years with the ACT public service.  Ms Beauchamp received the Public Service Medal in 2010 for outstanding public service in coordinating the Australian Government’s response to the 2009 Victorian bushfires.

On behalf of all Australians, I thank Ms Beauchamp for her service.

I am pleased to announce that I will be recommending to the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd), that he appoint Professor Brendan Murphy as Secretary of the Department of Health, with effect from 29 February 2020.

Professor Murphy is currently the Chief Medical Officer for the Australian Government and has a long and distinguished career in leadership positions in the health industry and academia. He will continue to play an active role in the management of Australia’s response to the coronavirus and the rollout of health initiatives related to the bushfires.

Prior to joining the Department of Health in 2016, Professor Murphy was the Chief Executive Officer at Austin Health in Victoria.

The current Deputy Chief Medical Officer Professor Paul Kelly will be acting Chief Medical Officer ahead of a formal appointment process.