Ministry and Cabinet Arrangements

Media statement
30 Oct 2020
Prime Minister

Today, I am pleased to confirm Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham has been sworn in as the Minister for Finance by the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Hon David Hurley AC DSC.

Senator Birmingham’s appointment follows Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann’s resignation today.

In his new role, Senator Birmingham will assist the Treasurer the Hon Josh Frydenberg MP, in leading Australia’s economy through the COVID recovery.

As previously announced, he will also assume the role of the Leader of the Government in the Senate. Minister for Employment Skills, Small and Family Business, Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash becomes Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate.

Following these changes to the Ministry, I am also announcing changes to Cabinet committee membership and process.

Minister for Home Affairs the Hon Peter Dutton MP and the Minister for Education the Hon Dan Tehan MP will join the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister, Treasurer, Minister for Finance, and Minister for Social Services in the Expenditure Review Committee.

A new Policy Implementation Committee of Cabinet is being established alongside the Expenditure Review Committee and National Security Committee. It will track implementation of government initiatives across all portfolios to ensure they are delivering the outcomes for Australians, as established in their policy approval by Cabinet.

The Committee will be chaired by the Prime Minister and the Deputy Chair will be the Deputy Prime Minister.

It will include the Treasurer, Minister for Finance, Minister for Health, Minister for Government Services, Minister for Industry, Science and Technology and will report directly to Cabinet.

I am also pleased to announce that Mr Chris Browne will shortly commence as Cabinet Secretary.

Mr Browne will bring broad experience to the role, having advised Ministers for Finance, Defence and Social Services.