MIKTA Leaders' Statement

Media statement
22 Sep 2021
Prime Minister

We, the leaders of Mexico, Indonesia, the Republic of Korea, Turkey and Australia (‘MIKTA’), restate our belief in and commitment to open societies, democratic values and multilateralism. As leaders of geographically, culturally, linguistically and religiously diverse nations – our commitment to democracy and working collaboratively in the multilateral system is significant.

MIKTA was established as a cross‑regional grouping of G20 member nations in 2013, with the idea that – working together – we could bridge divides between developed and developing nations and build consensus on issues which would be relevant to all regions. Arguably, this role has never been more important than it is now, in a world challenged by increasing geopolitical competition and strained by a global pandemic.

We are deeply saddened by the loss of lives and the ongoing suffering caused by the COVID‑19 pandemic, which is the most serious global health crisis of modern times—and a powerful reminder of the imperative for a strong, responsive and effective multilateral system, in which our institutions are adequately authorised and resourced to fulfil their mandates. We reiterate that challenges are interconnected and can only be addressed through reinvigorated multilateralism.

This is only the second time MIKTA leaders are making a joint statement – with the first time being on the occasion of the high‑level meeting to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the United Nations, in 2020. Much has changed in the world since 2020, and MIKTA will continue efforts to promote and support a multilateral system – with the United Nations at its core – that is effective, open and transparent and accountable to member states.

The Hon Scott Morrison MP, Prime Minister, Australia (MIKTA Chair)
HE Ir H Joko Widodo, President, Indonesia
HE Mr Andrés Manuel López Obrador, President, Mexico
HE Mr Moon Jae-in, President, Republic of Korea
HE Mr Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, President, Turkey