Media Statement

Media statement
27 Jun 2021
Prime Minister

Following consultations with the Deputy Prime Minister, I am announcing proposed changes to the Ministry which I intend to recommend to the Governor-General.

The Liberal-National Coalition has been a successful and enduring partnership for seven decades.

The Deputy Prime Minister and I will continue this strong partnership, one based on shared values and a shared vision for building an even stronger Australia.

Our focus remains on two outcomes – protecting lives and protecting livelihoods, as we continue to combat COVID-19 and build on the economic recovery that has led to the creation of almost one million jobs since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Deputy Prime Minister the Hon Barnaby Joyce MP will continue our strong legacy of infrastructure investment as the Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development.

The Hon David Littleproud MP will serve as the Minister for Agriculture and Northern Australia. Minister Littleproud has been the driving force behind securing a strong and competitive future for our agricultural sector.

Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie will return to the Cabinet as the Minister for Regionalisation, Regional Communications and Regional Education and as Minister for Drought and Emergency Management. She will have a clear focus on service delivery in regional Australia and be responsible for the continued work developing Australia’s disaster management capability.

The Hon Andrew Gee MP will join the Cabinet and serve as Minister for Veterans’ Affairs and Defence Personnel.

The Hon Keith Pitt MP will continue to serve in the outer Ministry as Minister for Resources and Water.

The Hon David Gillespie MP will join the Ministry as Minister for Regional Health and undertake the role of Deputy Leader of the House.

The Hon Kevin Hogan MP will serve as Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister and as Assistant Minister for Local Government.

The Hon Michelle Landry MP will continue to serve as Assistant Minister for Children and Families.

A proposed updated Ministry list is attached.

Outside of the formal executive, Senator Susan McDonald will take on the role of Envoy for Northern Australia.

These changes will provide the strongest female representation in an Australian Government Cabinet on record, building on the previous record also achieved under my Government.

However, it is not just about the size of the female contingent in my Cabinet but the skills and the experience they all bring to help us solve our nation’s challenges.

I wish to thank the former Deputy Prime Minister Michael McCormack for his selfless and dedicated service to Australia, his tireless efforts as Minister for Transport, Infrastructure and Regional Development and his faithful commitment to a strong Coalition Government.

I also wish to thank Ministers Darren Chester and Keith Pitt and for their strong contribution and service as members of the Cabinet and Minister Mark Coulton for his dedicated service in the Ministry.

It is proposed that new Ministers will be sworn into their roles on Friday.