2017 Prime Minister's Literary Awards Winners

Media release
01 Dec 2017
Prime Minister, Minister for Communications and the Arts
Education and Childcare

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull and Minister for the Arts Mitch Fifield today announced the winners of the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards.

Winners across six categories were selected from a strong shortlist of 30 works from an impressive group of Australian authors. The awards were presented today at a ceremony at Parliament House, Canberra.

The winning and shortlisted authors epitomise the strength and vitality of Australia’s literary talents and we congratulate them on this achievement.

A group of 15 judges across three expert panels made recommendations to the Prime Minister on the shortlists and winners from over 450 entries.

The winners are:


Their Brilliant Careers, Ryan O’Neill


Headwaters, Anthony Lawrence


Quicksilver, Nicolas Rothwell


Atomic Thunder: The Maralinga story, Elizabeth Tynan


Words in Deep Blue, Cath Crowley


Dragonfly Song, Wendy Orr, and

Home in the Rain, Bob Graham

In their 10th year, the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards demonstrate the Government’s continued support for the literary arts. There have been more than 4,000 entries over the past ten years and $4,750,000 in prize money has been awarded.

For more information about the winning books, authors and judges visit the Department of Communications and the Arts website.