Australian Government coat of arms

Prime Minister of Australia

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP


21 February 2017

20 February 2017

  • The Turnbull Government will invest $100 million in Navy related industrial infrastructure and sustainment in Western Australia between 2017 and 2020. The investment in shipbuilding production lines and facilities, including wharves, jetties and cranes, will occur on both Defence Estate, particularly HMAS Stirling (Fleet Base West), and at the Henderson industrial precinct.

  • Steve Mills: Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull joining us on the radio. Good morning to you, sir. Prime Minister: Good morning, great to be with you.

  • Geoff Hutchison: Prime Minister welcome to WA, why haven’t you been to see us in the last six months? Prime Minister: Oh lots of work to do, a very busy Parliament getting a lot of stuff through. As you know, in the last six months, we’ve got more contentious legislation through the Senate than we had done in the previous three years, and some of that has been vitally important for Western Australia, particularly the restoration of the rule of law to the construction sector which is so important here in this state.

  • I am looking forward, with Lucy, to welcoming the Prime Minister of Israel, Benjamin Netanyahu, and his wife, Mrs Sara Netanyahu, to Australia. This is a historic visit - the first by an Israeli Prime Minister - and it demonstrates the strength of our relationship and its importance to both countries.

  • PREMIER OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA: I’d like to welcome Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull to Western Australia and particularly here to the Australian Marine Complex.

19 February 2017

  • Today, we mark an important date in our history: the 75th anniversary of the Bombing of Darwin. At 9.58am on 19 February, 1942, Japanese aircraft began bombing the city of Darwin. We remember that more than 240 people were killed during two attacks on that day. The bombing was indiscriminate, killing military and civilian, men and women, young and old.

  • We are here today gathered as the Governor-General acknowledged on the land of the Larrakia people to remember the day 75 years ago in 1942, when a formation of silver flecks, glinting in the mid-morning sun, appeared over the horizon.

  • Good morning, Nigel Scullion and I have been honoured to be in the company of the men and women who defended Darwin 75 years ago when the war came to Australia, when the people of this city, the servicemen and women of Australia and the United States stood firm against the onslaught.


Subscribe to Prime Minister of Australia