Australian Government coat of arms

Prime Minister of Australia

The Hon Tony Abbott MP

Governor-General Designate to be sworn in

24 February 2014

Prime Minister


I’m pleased to announce that Governor-General Designate, General Peter Cosgrove AC MC, will be sworn in as Australia’s 26th Governor-General on 28 March 2014.

Chief Justice Robert French will swear-in General Cosgrove in the Senate with the reading of the Oath of Allegiance and the Oath of Office.

General Cosgrove and his wife Lynne will then reside at Government House in Canberra.

General Cosgrove has given service of the very highest order to our country.

I am confident that in this new role he will discharge his responsibilities with selfless dedication to duty.

Once again, I’d like to thank Her Excellency the Honourable Quentin Bryce for the contribution she has made as Governor-General since her appointment in 2008.

Ms Bryce has discharged her duties as Governor-General with grace and distinction.

There will be a number of events to formally mark the end of Ms Bryce’s term as Governor-General in the week of General Cosgrove’s swearing-in.

24 February 2014