Australian Government coat of arms

Prime Minister of Australia

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP


14 October 2015

13 October 2015

11 October 2015

10 October 2015

09 October 2015

  • Next week I go to New Zealand to meet Prime Minister Key on my first international trip as Prime Minister. It is appropriate that my first destination is New Zealand. 

  • I have today convened an urgent meeting of officials from Federal, State and Territory agencies to discuss Australia’s approach to countering violent extremism.

  • Thank you very much for being here. I want to speak today about our response as a nation to the brutal murder of Curtis Cheng, a police accountant, a much-loved father and husband.  He was murdered in an act of terrorism by a 15-year-old boy, motivated, we believe, by extremist political and religious views. 


Subscribe to Prime Minister of Australia